Skip to content

Career Information

The Actuarial Profession

The two main actuarial organizations in America are the Society of Actuaries and the Casualty Actuarial Society. Both are organizations that regulate and standardize the actuarial profession, but the difference lies in their respective industries. SOA is typically for actuaries aspiring to work in life, health, retirements, pensions, etc. CAS is the path usually followed by actuaries that work in property and casualty insurance.

The Exam Process

Actuaries take a series of exams to earn their fellowship designation with the Society of Actuaries (SOA) or the Casualty Actuarial Society (CAS). Read more about the exam processes for the SOA and CAS and how they differ. If you are planning to take an exam soon, visit the SOA website to check when the registration deadline is for your sitting.

Website Pic 14
Website Pic 13